Healthy, Whole Recipes – Chez Andrea!

Those who know me well know that I love to cook – more specifically, I love to cook whole foods, plant-based recipes.  So, if you’re interested in learning more about how to cook healthy recipes with natural ingredients, fruits, and vegetables, read on!

I will first make clear that the recipes that I post are not my own, they are taken from blogs that I follow.  I simply have not found the motivation nor the time to take pictures of my own food or develop my own formal recipes.  What I enjoy most is making delicious food and use blogs to guide me in doing so.  So, as I venture through recipes of the blogs that I follow, I will share those that have been successfully prepared and enjoyed in my own kitchen here!

But to give credit where credit is due, these are the blogs I pull from to find my own green kitchen inspiration:

Now onto today’s recipes…homemade nut milk and the life-changing loaf of bread!

Nut Milk – If your experience is anything like mine, after making your own nut milk you’ll never go back to store-bought again.  I’m fortunate to live in Morocco where I can buy nuts at a cheap price and so I enjoy making nut milk again and again.  But even in the Western world where nuts can be a bit expensive, I am convinced that making your own is worth the effort.  It’s delicious, healthy, and additive-free.  That being said, you will need a Vitamix or other high-speed blender to make the milk – which again, if you ask me, is worth the investment!Plant milks are rich in protein and depending on your choice of nuts and seeds, also high in minerals and vitamins. All you need is a high speed blender and a cheesecloth. Nuts can be pretty expensive, so if you want to try another more economical plant milk, you should try oat. Just replace the nuts in this recipe for oat, and strain it more carefully.

The Life-Changing Loaf of Bread – The recipe asks for an ingredient called psyllium husk powder…to find it, visit your local health foods store or buy it online, it’s pretty cheap!  Keep in mind, though, that there is no substitute for the psyllium husk powder as it is the ingredient that binds the bread together.  It’s a must in this recipe!  Other ingredients are much more adaptable.  For example, I do not have access to flax seeds or sunflower seeds in Morocco, so I used sesame seeds instead and the recipe was still a success.  I also use honey instead of maple syrup as it is quite expensive here…I’m definitely not near Canada anymore!  Chia seeds can be expensive as well.  For me they’re a superfood and worth the cost, but understandably this isn’t the case for everyone.  I imagine you could probably leave the chia seeds out of the recipe as well and still make a great loaf of bread.  And finally, feel free to use any kind of nut that you enjoy in the bread – almonds, hazelnuts, walnuts, pecans – they will all work!

Leave a Reply

