A Week in Portland, Oregon

Is it almost October already?!?!  Fall’s officially here, but this post on a trip I took in August to visit my cousin, Kate, and her husband, Hadrien, in Portland, Oregon is my final farewell to summer!  Thanks for having me, Kate. 🙂

IMG_6784

Explored downtown Portland’s awesome food scene, Pip’s Doughnuts (one of my favorite chai tea spots), Powell’s books, and the city’s rose garden…

IMG_6572

A food truck favorite…Wolf & Bear!

IMG_6551
IMG_6574

IMG_6580

IMG_6890

IMG_6579

IMG_6739

Casablanca?  Only 5,643 miles away…

IMG_6565

Feel free to borrow a book and have a read on the streets of Portland.  Loved this “LittleFreeLibrary.”

IMG_6597

Ran into one of Marc’s best childhood friends from Barcelona.  Hola Marc y Eva!  Small world, no?!?!

IMG_2186 (1)

And met some of my favorite Barre3 instructors – Lisa Schale-Drake & Audrey Roloff!  Never heard of Barre3?  It’s my new favorite workout of choice, a combo of Pilates, yoga, and barre with an extensive online workout library.  Interested?  Try it out.  You’ll definitely feel the burn and those Barre3 shakes and quakes!

IMG_6905

IMG_6536

IMG_2149

Speaking of Audrey Roloff, had to make my way to see Roloff Farms – yes, I am a fan of TLC’s Little People, Big World!  Much to Marc’s dismay…

IMG_6961

Went on some heart-happy runs in the wildnerness.  🙂

IMG_2166

IMG_2174

Was a treat to get to see this while driving down the highway – not exactly something you see in Ohio!

IMG_6908

Visited Columbia River Gorge & Multnomah Falls…

IMG_6718

IMG_6615

IMG_6621

IMG_6606

IMG_6640

IMG_6666

IMG_6714

And last, but certainly not least, spent a few days on the wild, magnificent Oregon Pacific coast at Cannon Beach.

IMG_6774

IMG_6748

IMG_6863

I made this trip out to Oregon on my own as it’s a place I’ve always thought would be a good fit for Marc and I to live.  I went, I saw, and while I loved it, I missed my family in Ohio and my Mediterranean life in Morocco.  I’m thankful to have had the opportunity, however, to go to Oregon and close that chapter in my heart that dreamt of a life there.  Maybe it would have, could have been right, but in another life – for now my heart is full with the life I’m living now and there’s no better feeling than to have confirmed that in my own heart…and reminded of it by this street art I came across walking around East London a few weeks ago (we were there for work and to visit Marc’s sister over our Eid break).

Do what you love, love what you do.  Do you???  Food for thought…

Happy fall, everyone!  🙂

IMG_6996


Recipes:

Thai Coconut Curry Hummus – A delicious spin on traditional hummus, Marc approved!

Chocolate Almond Butter Banana Shake – Replaced the peanut butter with almond butter, and added a scoop of espresso for a mocha twist.

Za’atar Grilled Chicken with Tahini Sauce – Try za’atar, and tahini sauce for that matter, for an easy flavor punch to just about any of your favorite vegetables or proteins.

Almond Butter No-Bake Cookies – Quick, easy, and sweet snack or dessert.

Spiced Carrot Coconut Soup – Used yellow curry powder instead of red curry paste and almond butter instead of peanut butter – I LOVE soup!

Leave a Reply

