2016 Miller Family Christmas

Marc and I are back in Morocco after spending our holidays in Ohio!  One of this year’s Christmas highlights was a visit to Stan Hywet Hall in Akron with my mom, sister, and niece – it was a real treat and a highly recommended visit if you live in NE Ohio!

img_8034

img_8040

img_8048

img_8052

Gingerbread Land!

img_8066

Ava Faith had had enough…

img_8071

Next was our 2016 Miller Family Christmas!

This year’s holiday season was special as it marks 5 years since Marc and I were married on December 23, 2011.  It’s remarkable to see how much our extended family has changed since then and the twists and turns that our life has taken!

Here we are, Christmas 2011:

img_2719

img_2720

img_2718

And now, Christmas 2016:

img_8184

img_8179

img_8196

(Bailey taking a break from being Santa’s reindeer…)

img_8260

In 5 years, we have celebrated the addition of two nieces and a nephew to the Miller family, Marc and I have moved from Washington to London to Casablanca, we’ve changed our careers, my parents are entering a new stage in life with my mom’s retirement, and in the midst of all of this my sweet Bailey is still hanging on and is as joyful as ever at almost 13 years old.  I love how the comparison of old and new in these pictures capture the subtle, yet significant changes that have taken place in our family, but are also a reminder of how much does not change, how many things really do stay solid and consistent, the most important of which is family…this trip was definitely a celebration of the wonderful family we have both in the US and in Europe!  We are thankful for each and every one of you.  🙂

And last but not least, this year’s New Year for Marc and I was spent on the plane in transit from the US to Morocco over the Atlantic Ocean!  In upholding our Spanish traditions, we ate our 12 grapes, we’re just not quite sure if we ate them in the last 12 seconds of 2016 – it was a little difficult to know what time it was as we were flying across time zones.  What a way to ring in the new year!  Wishing you a wonderful 2017, everyone!


Recipes

Farm Stand Meatballs with Collard Greens & Apricots – I used dried cherries instead of apricots, and spinach instead of collard greens as it’s what I had on hand.  I also added caramelized onions!  You could use either or even omit the dried fruit, whichever way I really liked this flavorful twist on serving those dark greens that are so important in our diet!

Miso Chicken with Cauliflower & Carrot Mash – Again, used spinach instead of collard greens and added carrots to the cauliflower mash – both good additions/substitutions.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup – I used butternut squash instead of kabocha squash, and added some apple and a bit of fontina cheese to this basic soup recipe…

Lemon Poppyseed Zucchini Muffins – Not necessarily seasonal, but I will be keeping this recipe around for the spring/summertime!

Kombucha – My brother gifted me a SCOBY (yay!!!) and I am now brewing my first batch of kombucha.  We’ll see how it turns out!  Don’t know what kombucha is?  Or want to try out brewing it yourself?  Check out the link for a beginner’s tutorial from My New Roots.

4 thoughts on “2016 Miller Family Christmas

  1. Happy 2017 Andrea and Marc! I loved this post with all of the pictures and video too! We are so lucky!!! God bless you! Love, Cathy

    Like

  2. The butternut squash soup was delicious! Ava Faith loved it too! This was a beautiful post. You always take such beautiful pictures too–your skills are on point 😉 Its true–time and circumstances change, but family never does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

